Governance - Towards Healing - information website about Towards Healing, a counselling service for people who have suffered abuse in Catholic Institutionsin Ireland.

Go to content

Main menu:


About Us

The Company is a Company Limited by Guarantee (CLG) and is governed by an Independent Board of Directors. It has signed up to comply with the Code of Governance - a Code of Practice for Good Governance of Community, Voluntary and Charitable Organisations in Ireland. Click here to see more about the code.
The Directors of the Company are:

Ms. Marian Shanley  (Chair)

Marian is a Solicitor by profession and acted as legal adviser to the Ferns Inquiry and was a Commissioner on the Commission for Inquiry into Child Abuse (The Ryan Commission). She was also a member of the Law Reform Commission from 2002 - 2012.
She is Chairperson of the Board of Management for St. Mary’s College, Rathmines. Chairperson of the Advisory Panel for the Spiritan Order in Ireland and Chairperson of the Rights Enhancement Committee for Autism Ireland.
She is consultant with the Pharmaceutical Society of Ireland.

Ms. Maureen Browne   

Maureen Browne is a health analyst, journalist and communications consultant, who has worked in the health area for many years.
She is proprietor of Hartcliffe Communications, columnist with the "Irish Medical News", Managing Editor of "The Consultant" and Editor of "Health Manager".
She has previously been National Communications Director with the HSE and Editor of the Irish Medical Times. She was appointed by the Government to the Second Commission on the Status of Women and is a member of the Board of Trustees of the Worth Library

Mr. Michael Duffy    

Michael Duffy is the CEO of the Royal Dublin Society.  Michael has held this position since 2004 and was formerly head of An Bord Bia and is a graduate of UCD and INSEAD Business School in France.  He has previously served in senior roles in IDA Ireland

Most Rev. John Fleming D.D  

Most Rev. John Fleming was ordained as Bishop of Killala on 7 th April 2002.  His episcopal responsibilities include Finance Secretary of the Episcopal  Conference and a Member of the Standing Committee, member of the Episcopal Commission for Planning Communications and Resources, member of the Council for Governance, and Chairman of the Council for Finance and General Purposes.

Sr. Noreen Shanley

Noreen Shankey is a St. Louis Sister. She has a background in Education, Clinical Psychology and Spirituality. She has worked as a teacher, a counsellor and as a chaplain at 3rd level. She has held various leadership roles in her order. She was formerly on the Executive Board of CORI and is currently Regional Leader for St. Louis in Ireland.

Most Rev. Fintan Monahan

Born in Tullamore, Co. Offaly in January 1967 & moved to An Cheathrú Rua, Co. na Gaillimhe in 1979. Ordained in Carraroe in 1991 after studying Science and Theology in St. Patricks College, Maynooth. Ministered in An Tulach, Baile na hAbhann from 1992-1993 & taught in St. Jarlath's College Tuam from 1993 until 2005. Diocesan Secretary, Tuam from 2005-2016 and Chaplain to St. Jarlath's during that period. Consecrated bishop of Killaloe on September 25th, 2016.

Fr. John Hughes

John Hughes OSA is a member of the Irish Augustinian Province. Presently based in Dublin as parish priest of the parish of Ballyboden, he has served in a variety of ministries: formation, counselling and, for eight years, as Vicar for Clergy in the Archdiocese of Dublin. Ordained in 1975, he graduated from the Institute of Psychology at the Gregorian University in 1977.

Mr. Stephen Quinn

Before establishing his own management services consultancy company (SCQ Management Services Ltd) in 2007 Stephen worked for nearly 30 years with ABN AMRO Bank NV in Ireland. Stephen held various management positions during this time including COO of Riada & Co Stockbrokers, part of the ABN AMRO Group, and concluding his career as CFO for the Group in Ireland.  Stephen was a Director of various ABN AMRO entities in Ireland and a Trustee of a number of pension schemes until his retirement in 2017.

Back to content | Back to main menu